Skip to main content

S12 Monterrey Conquistadors = Campeones Del Mundo

Lead by a devastating offensive attack, the Monterrey Conquistadors claimed the championship trophy in Capra's dozenth season. Monterrey's postseason heroes include the following:

Trenidad Rios: .467/.500/.978 and 7hrs/13 rbis
Darren Owens: .328/.397/.590 and 4 hrs/14 rbis
Al Maurer: .327/.417/.692 and 6 hrs/13 rbis
Alfonso Cortrez: .298/.385/.596 and 5 hrs/17 rbis

Nor were the Conquistadors without tough pitching during the playoffs. Livan Lee went 3-0 with a 2.78 era over 5 starts and 32+ innings. Jimmie Gutierrez matched Lee with a 3-0 count over 4 starts, ending in a 2.42 era.

Overall, the team formerly known as the Jackson Riverdogs went 11-3 in the postseason enroute to claiming their 2nd WS title. Previously the Riverdogs won the WS in S8.


Popular posts from this blog

Minnesota North Stars All Time Team 


Hardball Dynasty'sJose Almonte
Jose Almonte
Years Active: -2 to 11
Years with North Stars: 0-11
Claim to fame: 1,496 consecutive games played (Capra record)
Awards: All-Star (1, 4), Silver Slugger (4)

Almonte was an on-base machine, with 7 seasons of .400 OBP or better. That was also his career mark and he had 7 100-walk seasons. He also scored 92 or more runs each of the first 5 seasons of Capra, and hit 38 doubles in season 4. A forearm nerve injury ended his record games-played streak, particularly impressive considering he was a catcher.

Hardball Dynasty'sWesley Wilson
Wesley Wilson
Years active: 27-41
Years with North Stars: 36-41
Claim to fame: 98 RBI on a dismal 96-loss team in 37

Wilson had a long career and finished it with 3 straight seasons hitting over .300 with the club. His .322/.381/.547 slash line at age 34 was impressive.

Hardball Dynasty'sJeffrey Brow
Jeffrey Brow
Years active: 3-13
Years with North Stars: 3-…